Viewing: kilbeykennedy - View all posts

Review of White Magic 

Despite the fact White Magic was released three or so years ago I've only just spotted this fantastic iTunes review of our album White Magic. My four eyes can't be everywhere all the time!

'Even in the ‘80s, the Church — fronted by our boy Steve Kilbey — made music full of mystery, moodiness, and ‘60s psychedelic influences. On his own, Kilbey has a tendency to get even moodier and more mysterious, and White Magic is no exception. Even with the Church still active, Kilbey engaged in pretty frequent extracurricular activities in the 21st century, and White Magic is his second collaboration with fellow Aussie Martin Kennedy. Kennedy is a member of ambient pop outfit All India Radio, and the pair's first album, Unseen Music Unheard Words, was based largely around just the two of them.

White Magic, however, incorporates the talents of Kennedy's other AIR bandmates, and bears a much fuller, more organically fleshed-out sound that's also more evocative and ethereal than its predecessor. Crafting ambient soundscapes is Kennedy and company's area of expertise, and they craft a world of gently shifting, swirling sounds to surround Kilbey's hushed, evocative vocals.

Acoustic and electric textures mix freely, without the subtle electronic shadings found on the first Kilbey/Kennedy album, and the tracks move from the spare and intimate to the lushly orchestral without ever breaking the spell or the mood. Reference points for the languid feel, whisper-in-a-whirlpool dynamic, and psychedelic pop-informed ballads would be early-‘70s Pink Floyd at their most low-key, early Scott Walker, Robyn Hitchcock at his most autumnal, and the fragile psych homages of contemporary Brits the Clientele, but White Magic never feels like a retro excursion; it's an intoxicating, atmospheric piece of work that achieves a real sense of timelessness.'

~ J. Allen, Rovi (iTunes review)

Full review here

Songs From The Real World Vol 2 Pre-Order 

We are proud to present the next collection of our favourite commissioned songs plus a new vocal version of 'Ghost' (previously an instrumental track on the double CD edition of You Are Everything). The album will be packaged in a digipack and again features beautiful whimsical artwork from reclusive 1970/80s fantasy artist Steve Dodd. The CD is expected to ship late August 2014. Many thanks and much love to all our commissioners!

Pre-order Songs from the Real World Vol 2 CD and digital

You Are Everything Vinyl Available In Australia 

The VINYL edition of You Are Everything is available now in Australia only from Red Eye Records Sydney! Further stores will be added later. If you are not in Sydney Red Eye have a very good postal service so you can order from them with confidence. The vinyl also includes a 14 track bonus remix disc and a download card. Released on UK psychedelic label Agitated, the vinyl is limited to 500 copies worldwide.

Australia - order from Red Eye Records
USA - order from Midheaven
UK/Europe - order from Norman Records
Side A 1. I Wouldn’t Know
2. Everyone
3. Lorelei
4. Knowing You Are In This World
5. I Find

Side B
6. East Side West Side
7. A Better Day
8. All The World
9. Brother Moon Sister Sun
10. Can’t Get Free
11. Finale

Bonus CD tracks:
1. I Wouldn’t Know (Mk Remix)
2. Can’t Get Free (Mk Remix)
3. Lorelei (MK Berlin Mix)
4. Ghost
5. Dont Forget Me
6. Everyone (Mk Remix)
7. I Find (Hi Brazil Mix)
8. Brother Moon Sister Sun (Michael Baer Mix)
9. A Better Day (The Black Hundred Mix)
10. Lorelei (Fuzzed Out Bliss Mix)
11. Everyone (Film Mix)
12. Knowing You Are In This World (Early Vocal Version)
13. Everyone (Enoyreve Mix)
14. Lorelei (Acoustic Mix)